TCF for Residency permit

Prerequisites

You must wait at least 30 days to retake the test.

Contents

The TCF IRN (Integration, Residence, Nationality), replaces the TCF ANF and the TCF CRF since 1 January 2022.

The TCF for Residency permit (TCF CRF) has been designed to answer the new dispositions of the French Ministry of the Interior. An A2 level in French is required for every person of less than 65 years old applying for the first time for long-term EU residency permit or a permit with a “long-stay residency – EU” mention.

The TCF for Residency permit assesses 4 General French skills :

  • 20 multiple choice for oral comprehension (0h15)
  • 20 multiple choices for written comprehension (0h20)
  • 3 tasks for oral production, organized by progressive difficulty level (0h10)
  • 3 tasks for written production, organized by progressive difficulty level (0h30)

After the test, you will get an official certificate which is valid for 2 years.

Calendar of registrations and sessions

 

Registration deadline (subject to availability) Session 2023
Written tests
Session 2023
Oral tests
Thursday 8 December 2022 Friday 27 January 2023 26 and 27 January 2023
Thursday 22 December 2022 Friday 3 February 2023 02 and 03/02/2023
Thursday 5 January 2023 Friday 24 February 2023 23 and 24 /02/2023
Thursday 9 February 2023 Friday 31 March 2023 30 and 31/03/2023
Thursday 2 March 2023 Friday 14 April 2023 13 and 14 April 2023
Thursday 23 March 2023 Friday 5 May 2023 04 and 05 May 2023
Wednesday 17 May 2023 Friday 30 June 2023 29 and 30 June 2023
Thursday 25 May 2023 Friday 7 July 2023 06 and 07 July 2023

Registration formalities

To validate your registration, you must upload the following document through your online account in “My official documents”.

Upon receipt, we will send you your invitation to the test.

Please make sure you provided us with your permanent address while registering, as we will send your diploma approximately 4-5 weeks after the test date to this same address.

Important

  • Registration fees are not refundable,
  • An A2 level or above is one of the requirements to obtain a French resident permit but does not guarantee approval.